NEC Releases Rivercess By-Election Provisional Listing

NEC Releases Rivercess By-Election Provisional Listing

The National Elections Commission (NEC) has released the Provisional List of Candidates for the Rivecess County Electoral District Number 2 Representative By-Election.

The list was released Tuesday following the Nomination exercise of candidates desirous of contesting the By-Election.

According to the Provisional List, Ten (10) persons have expressed interest in contesting the By-Election in the district.

Nine political parties, including the Congress for Democratic Change (CDC), Alternative National Congress (ANC), Unity Party (UP), National Patriotic Party (NPP), Union of Liberian Democrats, Liberty Party, National Democratic Coalition, People’s Unification Party and the Movement for Progressive Change (MPC) have applied to contest the election.

The Provisional List of Candidates also reveals that only one Independent Candidate, Hilary Mento, applied to contest the election while all of the candidates, except one, is a female.

The provisional list of candidates is been evaluated by the Commission to ensure that only individuals who meet the legal requirements are allowed to contest the By-Election.

In line with the Key dates for the Rivercess County, Electoral District Number 2 Representative By-Election, the final list of qualified candidates will be released on March 25, 2015.

Political Campaign for the April 21, 2015 Representative By-Election will run from March 25 to April 19, 2015.

The By-Election is a result of the election of Rivercess County Electoral District Number 2 Representative Francis Paye as Senator during the December 20, 2014 Special Senatorial Election and is being conducted in accordance with Article 37 of the Liberian constitution which states that “In the event of a vacancy in the Legislature created by death, resignation, expulsion or otherwise, the Presiding Officer shall within 30 days notify the elections Commission thereof. The Elections Commission shall not later than 90 days thereafter cause a By-election to be held.”