Borders Opened, Curfew Lifted

By Morrison O.G Sayon

President Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf has ordered the lifting of the curfew imposed nationwide.

The lifting of the curfew according to the Liberian leader, takes effect beginning yesterday. The President has also ordered the reopening of all the country’s main borders that were ordered closed during the Ebola outbreak.

The Liberian leader’s decision is based on the advice of the National Security Council of Liberia.

The nationwide curfew was imposed as part of several measures meant to contain the further spread of the deadly Ebola virus Disease and ensure national security.

The Ministry of Health has at the same time been requested to ensure the adoption and implementation of health protocols that will prevent the importation of the virus through any of the crossing points, while members of the Joint Security assigned at the borders are mandated to work closely with the health authorities to ensure adherence to the health protocols and safety at all times.

Few months ago when the Ebola virus was raging in the country, President Sirleaf, among other measures, announced the imposition of a curfew throughout the country beginning Wednesday, August 20th from 9:00 p.m. to 6:00 a.m.

On Monday, September 8, 2014, the Liberian leader further announced an adjustment in the curfew throughout the country which ran from 12:00 midnight to 6:00 a.m. The curfew has been in place since August.

In a nationwide address in August, President Sirleaf stressed that the additional measures were intended to contain the spread of the Ebola virus Disease overall and particularly in those areas of intensity.

The Government’s actions were necessitated by the rapid spread of the disease, coupled with the death toll due largely to continued denials, cultural burial practices and failure to adhere to health protocols.

In more Presidential news, President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf has made additional appointments in government affecting the Ministry of Internal Affairs local government structures.

According to an Executive Mansion release, these appointments are subject to confirmation by the Liberian Senate, where applicable.

In Montserrado County President Sirleaf appointed Mrs. Lomeh Roberts as  Commissioner of Dixville Township replacing Ms. Annie Dillon; Mrs. Miatta H. Flowers has been appointed Commissioner of Virginia Township replacing Ms.Musu Marshall; the President also appointed Mr. Sampson J. Nyan Commissioner, West Point replacing Ms. Miatta Flowers.

Others appointed by President Sirleaf include, Rev. Clarrisa J. Robertson, Commissioner, Caldwell Township replacing Rev. Alexine Howard and Mrs. Alveria Morris Raynes Commissioner, Clay Ashland City.

In Lofa County, the Liberian leader also appointed Madam Caroline M. Momoh, City Mayor, Kolba City and in Bong County she also appointed DehehPaye, District Commissioner, Kpanta District.