CRC Plans National Constitution Conference

The Constitution Review Committee, (CRC) had dispatched four teams headed by Committee members to the 15 counties to select delegates to attend its planned National Constitution Conference.

Madam Amelia Ward is heading a team in River Cess and Grand Bassa Counties; Rev.       Dr. Jasper S. Ndaborlor is heading another in Lofa, Gbarpolu, Bomi and Grand Cape Mount Counties; Soko V. Sako is heading the one in Nimba, Bong and Margibi Counties while the one covering the south eastern counties; Grand Gedeh, River Gee, Maryland, Grand Kru and Since headed by Solomon G. K. Boe, representing Cllr. Gloria Musu-Scott, Chairperson of the CRC.

The NCC is to validate views gathered during the nation-wide public consultations held early in 2014 and formulate proposals for amendments to the 1986 Constitution.

The NCC is slated from March 22-29, 2015 with delegates coming from the 73 electoral districts of the country, political parties, the national Civil Society Council, the National Legislature, the Executive Branch, representatives of Diaspora Liberians, amongst other national stakeholders.

The profile of the county delegation include: Traditional Leader, Paramount Chiefs, Women Groups, Youth Groups, Student Groups, Persons with Disabilities, Christian and Muslim Communities and the Liberia Marketing Association and the County Superintendent.

Meanwhile, the CRC has constituted its National Constitution Conference’s Secretariat comprised of CRC and its partners.

Those named as members of the core team are; Mohammed Boakai, National Project Officer of the Constitution Review Committee, as Head of the Secretariat; Francis Wilson, of the Governance Commission and TheophilousAddey, of the Ministry of Finance and Development Planning as members.

Other members are WindorTarplah, of the Law Reform Commission as well as Silas Tokpa, Bong County Focal Person of CRC and EkuruAukot, of the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP-Liberia) and Chief Technical Advisor to the Constitution Review Committee.