Already Certain For The Senate

By Morrison O.G. Sayon

Ten candidates in the recent Special Senatorial Election are now certain to take over as Senators following results from various counties across the country.

Ten of the twelve incumbents Senators including Senate Pro-tempore, Gbehnzohngar Findley were massively defeated in the just-ended Senatorial race thus, bringing on board ten new Senators who are to serve for nine years.

Only two of the incumbent Senators including Bong County Senator, Jewel Howard-Taylor, the only female candidate in the Bong County Senatorial race and Nimba County Senator, Prince Y. Johnson are returning to the Liberian Senate after defeating their opponents.

Counties in which the tallying process has ended include Bong, Gbapolu, Grand Bassa, Grand Cape Mount, Grand Kru, Grand Gedeh, Lofa and Margibi Counties. Others are Maryland, Nimba, Rivercess, River Gee and Sinoe Counties.

In Bong County, incumbent Senator, Jewel Howard-Taylor is returning to the Liberian Senate after obtaining the total of 13,672 votes constituting 35.2 percent; while her closest rival, Cuttington University President, Dr. Henrique Tokpa obtained 11,737 votes amounting to 30.2 percent of the total votes cast.

In Gbapolu County, former Senator, Daniel Naatehn is returning with total votes of 3,962 votes representing 34.3 percent of the total votes cast with former Superintendent, Gertrude Lamin obtaining 1,906 representing 16.5 percent of the votes cast in the county.

Report emanating from the 347 polling places in Grand Bassa County suggests that Senate Pro-tempore, Gbehnzohngar Findley has been defeated in the Grand Bassa County Senatorial race with Liberty party candidate, Jonathan L. Kaipay obtaining the total votes of 16, 296 votes representing 57 percent, while incumbent Senator Findley obtained 10,306 constituting 36 percent of the total valid votes cast.

Renowned Liberian Lawyer and Chairman of the ruling Unity party, Cllr. H. Varney Sherman has without doubt won the Grand Cape Mount County Senatorial Election having obtained 13,651 of the total votes cast representing 61.7 percent followed by Dr. Fodee Kromah of the Congress for Democratic Change (CDC) with 3,431 constituting 15.5 percent of the total votes cast.

The 141 polling places in Grand Gedeh County have completed the tallying process with CDC’s Marshall Dennis winning the race with the total race of 6,148 votes constituting 35.9 percent, while Representative, Zoe Emmanuel Pennue obtained 3,273 representing 19.1 percent of the total valid votes cast.

In Grand Kru County after counting votes from the 92 polling places it is now clear that Mr. Albert Chie has won the Senatorial Election in that county with the total votes of 5,619 representing 45.4 percent followed by former Superintendent, Rosalind Sneh with the total votes of 2,781 constituting 22.5 percent of the valid votes cast.

Liberty Party candidate, Stephen Zargo has won the Lofa County race as results from all of the 395 polling places suggest that Mr. Zargo has obtained the total votes of 12,797 representing 26.2 percent of the valid votes cast, while Mr. Joseph Jallah obtained 8,554 constituting 17.5 percent.

In Margibi County results from the 329 polling places have put Mr. Jim Tornonlah in the lead after obtaining 7,893 representing 30.5 percent, with Prof. Ansu Sonii obtaining 6,640 votes representing 25 percent of the total valid votes cast.

  1. Gbleh-bo Brown has narrowly won the Maryland County Senatorial race after obtaining the total votes of 5,192 constituting 32,7 percent with Rep. Bhofal Chambers obtaining the total votes of 5,116 representing 32.2 percent.

In the densely populated county of Nimba, incumbent Senator Prince Y. Johnson is returning with a new vigor to the Liberian Senate after results from the 598 polling places gives him a commendable lead of 37,932 votes constituting 66.6 percent while his rival, former Superintendent Edith Gongloe-Weh obtained the total votes of 9,471 representing 16.6 votes.

Tallying has completed in Rivercess County with Rep. Francis Paye receiving the total votes of 1,959 representing 22.8 percent while former Superintendent, Wellington Geevon Smith obtaining 1,278 constituting 14.9 percent of the total valid votes.

Results from the 77 polling places in River Gee County has given victory to a veteran politician, Conmany B. Wesseh who obtained 2,672 votes followed by Mr. Jonathan Sogbie with the total votes of 1,719 constituting 16.8.

Results from Sinoe County suggests that tough-talking former Superintendent, J. Milton Teahjay has won the county’s Senatorial race after obtaining 6,772, representing 50.1 percent of the total valid votes cast with incumbent Senator, Mobutu Nyenpan obtaining 4,725 constituting 35.0 percent of the votes cast.

Montserrado and Bomi Counties are yet to complete the tally of ballots, but results from 1,121 polling places have giving a commendable lead to CDC’s political leader George M. Weah with the total votes of 74,305 constituting 78.1 percent of the votes while Mr. Robert Sirleaf obtained 10,267 amounting to 10.8 percent of the total valid votes.

The race in Bomi County was marred by confusion but latest results from 138 polling places put Unity Party candidate Morris Saytumah in the lead with 8,093 constituting 47.2 percent while incumbent Senator, Lahai Lansanah obtained 6,276 of the total valid votes cast in the county.