July 26 Money Goes To Ebola…As Senate Concurs With House’s Resolution

By Morrison O.G. Sayon

Barely a week following request by the National Legislature for the declaration of a State of Emergency against the deadly Ebola virus, the lawmakers have gone further by crafting a resolution for money allotted for the celebration of Liberia’s 167th Independence Anniversary to be used to fight the virus.

Recently the House of Representatives crafted a Resolution mandating the Executive to cancel the July 26 celebration and use funds allocated for such purpose by the Ministry of Health & Social Welfare to contain the rapid spread of the Ebola epidemic.

At its regular session yesterday, the Liberian Senate concurred with the House’s Resolution to use the money for the fight against Ebola with some amendments to the original version.

In its amendment, the Senate agreed that the money for the July 26 celebration be sent to the Health Ministry to combat the virus but dropped the version which states that the Independence celebration for the year be cancelled.

The Secretary of the Senate has been mandated to communicate with the lower House of the Senate’s decision and inform the Executive about the decision taken by the national legislature.

Recently, the Liberian Senate expressed serious concern over the rapid spread of Ebola and the death toll from the epidemic. The Senate last week mandated the Executive Branch of government to declare a State of Emergency against the Ebola virus outbreak.

Meanwhile, Grand Kru County Senator, Dr. Peter Coleman, has disclosed that the Government of Liberia has made available US$100,000 from the July 26, 2014 Independence Day celebration to be used on the fight against the deadly virus.

Sen. Coleman who chairs the Senate Committee on Gender, Health, Social Welfare and Women and Children Affairs on the Ebola Epidemic, said other partners are also contributing to the Ministry of Health to enable the Ministry contain the epidemic which has spread to at least seven of Liberia’s fifteen counties.