NEC Mandates 19 Magistrates…To Conduct Senatorial Election

By Antoinette Sendolo

Ahead of the October 14, 2014 special Senatorial Election expected to be held throughout the 15 counties in Liberia, the National Elections Commission has identified and mandated nineteen Election Magistrates to conduct the election in all 15 counties across the country.

According to the Chairman of the National Elections Commission, Jerome Korkoya, the upcoming special senatorial election pursuant to the New Elections Law of 1986 is in accordance with Article 46 which states that ‘’Immediately after the Senate shall have assembled following the election prior to the coming into force of this constitution, the senators shall be divided into two categories as a result of the votes cast in each county. The senator with the higher votes cast shall be the senator of the first category and the senator with the lower votes cast shall be senator of the second category; provided that no two senators from a county shall be placed in the same category.’’

He added that the seats of senators of the first category shall be vacated at the expiration of the ninth year as required by the New Elections Laws of 1986.

He disclosed that the last day for nomination of candidates by duly registered political parties, alliances, coalitions and independent candidates shall be the 24th day of July, 2014 at 5:00 Post Meridian.

Meanwhile, Antoinette Johnson, Clerk of Writs at the National Elections Commission issued Election writ to the 19 election Magistrates to conduct a special senatorial election for the election of senator for each of the 15 counties on the 14 day of October 2014 from the hour of 8:00 ante Meridian to 6:00 post Meridian.

She further commanded the 19 election magistrates certified by her and endorsed upon the writ, at the close of the counting of votes as to the form and manner in which the special election was conducted throughout the 15 counties and the result thereof.