INQUIRER Boss Urges Borough Youths

The Managing Editor of THE INQUIRER Newspaper, Atty Philip N. Wesseh has urged members of the Federation of Borough Youths in New Kru Town to always exercise those virtues of leadership to be successful in all of their undertakings.

Speaking last Saturday during the second inaugural program of the group at the town hall, Mr. Wesseh, a former resident of the area, told the elected officials to always ensure that there is accountability, transparency and unity.

He noted that one of the reasons why many organizations have short life span is because those in charge do not run open and transparent administrations.

“You have to avoid doing things in secret; let the people know what you are doing; always inform them of funds received and how those funds are used,” the INQUIRER boss told the officials at the well attended program.

Mr. Wesseh also called on the young people of the Borough to always exhibit those virtues to disabuse the minds of those who stigmatize residents of the Borough.

Also speaking at the occasion, Prof Wilson Tarpeh, also a former resident of the area challenged the youths to prepare themselves for tomorrow and behave appropriately to bring pride to the Borough.

He said those who harbor the notion that ‘nothing good’ could come from the Borough are now convinced that this is not true because of the number of persons it has produced and are making contributions on the national scene. He then awarded four scholarships to the organization.

Others who spoke at the program included the Representative of the area, Edward Forh, Cecelia Cuffy-Brown, Nathaniel McGill, Secretary General of the opposition Congress for Democratic Change (CDC); Jefferson Korgee, Chairman of the Youth Wing of the CDC; Dixon Seeboe, eminent citizen of the District 16; Bishop Conto of the Mission For Today Church, Mr. Robert Teah, head of the Juah Sarwee School and Mr. Manneh Teah.

Those installed by Cllr. Oswald Natu Tweh, also a former resident of the Borough were Sonsala Parson, president; A Nimely Chea, first vice president; Augustine Nyormui, second vice president; Maima Caranda, secretary general; John Nah Nyanti, asst, secretary general; Ezekial Koffa, financial secretary; Reednel Kun, treasurer and Lee Wlejleh, chaplain.