SWAL Reconstitutes 7 Standing Committees …Membership Urged To Work Together

The leadership of the Sports Writers Association of Liberia (SWAL) has reconstituted its seven standing committees and one ad hoc committee with the appointment of individuals to serve on the respective committees.

The reconstituted Committees are: the Intellectual Committee, Membership Committee, Training and Planning Committee, Ways & Means Committee, Advisory Committee, Sports Recreation Committee and the Grievance and Ethics Committee.

According to a SWAL release, Abraham Wheon will Chair the Intellectual Committee with Trogan Kiazolu serving as Co-chair while Julius Konton will serve as Secretary to the Committee, with Danesius Marteh and Decontee Saywon named as members of the committee respectively.

The leadership named Tarnue Worwee as chairman of the Membership Committee with Alphanso Yelegar serving as co-chairman, while Boakai Siafa, Alex Tokpah and Sametta Williams will serve as secretary and members respectively.

A veteran member, Trokon Tarr has been appointed chairman of the Training and Planning Committee serving alongside Ikosa Ike as Co-chairman and Omari Jackson as Secretary.

Ledgerhood Rennie and Zoom Donso will serve as members on the committee.

The Roland Mulbah led Administration also named the former Vice President, Ms. Martina Brooks as Chairman on the Ways & Means Committee, with Francis Pelenah serving as Co-Chairman. Wleh Bedell is named Secretary to the committee, while Abbas Dulleh and Nicolas Gray will serve as members.

SWAL also constituted the Advisory Committee with Malcolm Joseph appointed as chair and J. Burgess Carter as Co-chairman. Hilary Konoe was named secretary, while Ahmed Jallazon and Zoegar Jaynes are members.

The Sports and Recreation Committee is been chaired by Jonathan Nagbe, while O’neal Roberts will co-chair the committee. Melton Yoko was appointed secretary to the committee, while Christopher Walker and Benjamin Garkpah will serve as members respectively.

Also appointed was Eddie Harmon who will now chair the Grievance & Ethics Committee, and will be assisted by Horatio Willie, Co-chairman, Calixe Hassou, secretary, Abu Donzo, member and Edwood Dennis member.

At the same time, SWAL has reconstituted its Constitution Review Committee which accordingly is charged with the responsibility of re-writing the association’s constitutions.

Zoegar Jaynes is being appointed chair, with Vincent Yelegar, as co-chairman and Omari Jackson. Others appointed to that committee are Henry B. Flomo and Hilary Conoe.

The appointments, according to SWAL take immediate effect.

Meanwhile, SWAL’s President has commended its members for their collaborations and support to the new leadership since the elections.

At the first general meeting under the new SWAL’s leadership, President Mulbah however called on its members to stick together and work for the growth of sports and athletes across the country.