NEC Gives Political Parties 6 Days

The National Elections Commission (NEC) has given a grace period of one week to all registered political parties in the country to enable them publish and submit to the Commission detailed statements of their assets and liabilities in keeping with Article 83 (d) of the Liberian Constitution.   The commission took the decision on Friday following an appeal made by political parties at a meeting between authorities of the NEC and political parties in Monrovia.

During the meeting the Chairman of the NEC, Cllr. Jerome Korkoya, announced that all political parties in the country were in violation of Article 83 (d) of the constitution by their failure to publish and submit their statements on September 1 this year.   Chairman Korkoya said the Commission will remain committed to implementing its mandate in line with the laws of Liberia.

He urged political parties to respect the grace period given them by the Commission and ensure that they publish and submit to the Commission statements of their assets and liabilities.

Political parties in attendance admitted to violating Article 83 (d) of the Constitution and appealed to the Commission for an extension of the cutoff date previously set at Tuesday, September 24, 2013 to Friday, September 27, 2013.

During the meeting it was resolved that political parties that have partially complied with the constitutional provision as well as those that have not submitted or published their statements to do so within the Friday, September 27, 2013 grace period.

Chairman Korkoya said even though the Commission has given political parties an extended grace period, it will decide what course of action to be taken against political parties for violating the constitution.

Political Parties violating the Article 83 (d) of the Constitution were placed in five categories including category one which consists of political parties that submitted statements of their assets and liabilities to the Commission on time but did not publish on time. Political parties in this category include Union of Liberian Democrats (ULD), Liberia Transformation Party (LTP), All Liberian Coalition Party (ALCOP), Congress for Democratic Change (CDC) and the National Patriotic Party.

Category Two consists of political parties that submitted statements of assets and liabilities on time but did not publish. These political parties include Grass Root Democratic party of Liberia (GDPL), Original Congress Party of Liberia (OCPL), National Vision Party of Liberia (NATVIPOL) and the National Reformation Party (NRP).

Category III consists of political parties that submitted assets and liabilities statements after the required dates of submission and did not submit proof of publication. Political parties involved are True Whig Party (TWP), Unity Party (UP) and the Progressive Democratic Party of Liberia (PRODEMP).

Category IV consists of Political Parties that Published and Submitted assets and Liabilities the Liberty Party which published and submitted statements of Assets and Liabilities after the required time frame. Category VI consists of political parties that did not publish and submit Statements of Liabilities and Assets. They include the National Democratic Party of Liberia (NDPL), Liberia Equal Rights Party (LERP), Liberia Reconstruction Party (LRP), Alliance for Peace and Democracy (APD), Citizens Unification Party (CUP), National Union for Democratic Progress (NUDP),   Majority Party of Liberia (MAPOL), Victory for Change (VFC), Progressive People’s Party (PPP), Freedom Alliance    Party of Liberia (FAPL), Liberia Empowerment Party (LEP), Movement for Progressive Change, Republican Party (RP), Alternative National Congress (ANC), Liberia Destiny Party (LDP), National Social Democratic party of Liberia (NSDPL), Liberia National Union (LINU) and the National Democratic Coalition (NDC).