NPP Members Condemn Cllr. Gould’s Removal

By Jefferson D.Tweh

The National Patriotic Party (NPP) Majority members have strongly condemned the removal of its National Chairman, Cllr.  Theophilus C. Gould and described the action as heinous, clumsy, unprofessional, unrealistic, unethical, and undemocratic,  and not in line with the party’s constitution.   National Secretary General of the National Patriotic Party (NPP), Mr.  Andrew Peter disclosed that the National Executive Committee (NEC)of the NPP is comprised of 41 members but the so-called  resolution which removed Cllr.Theophilus C.Gould from National Chairmanship, was adopted by 17 persons of the National  Executive Committee and out of the 17, 8 persons abstained from signing the resolution.

According to Mr.Peter,  National Executive Committee members  who are in full support of Cllr. Gould’s leadership,” and   did not sign the resolution were Mr. Lawrence Gboryah,Acting County Chairman, Grand Bassa County; Mr.   Cyrus Kamara,  National Chairman NPYC or NPP, Mr. A. Sieh Thomas, National Chairman NAPAL or NPP, Mr. David   Kolleh, Vice Chairman for  planning, Research and Policies NPP,Mr.C.Neilley Datouah, Vice Chairman for Finance and Investment NPP,Senator Jewel Howard  Taylor, Standard Bearer NPP,Senator Sando D.Johnson, National Vice   Chairman for Operations and Mobilization NPP, Mr.  Victor M.Wilson Chairman, Election Committee NPP, Mr. Roland C. Duo Chairman, Grievance and Ethics Committee NPP,   Mr.Kollie Kamara ASPPR, Mr. Thomas G. Goba Chair,   Auditing Committee, Mr. Morris Paye ASFI or Controller, Mr. Adam  Gomettee  ASSSS, Mr. Edward Gormas Chairman, Grand Bassa County, Mr. Ben B. Nyanti Jr. Chair, Maryland County, Mr. Melvin  Cole Chair, Bong County, Mr. John M.Dakarllie Chair, Nimba County,Mr.Manfred Doe Chair, Rivercess County, Mr. Nelson Bogar  Chair, Bomi County, Mr. Balah Kollie-Blee  Chair, Lofa County, Mdam Elizabeth Bamam  Chair,WMP.

Mr.Peter further stated that  article 6 section 6.1 of the NPP constitution states that sixty percent of the delegates  that unanimously elected a constituency, county or National Officer, as a case may be, give written notice to the  constituency, County or National Executive Committee, and as the case may be, their demand for the removal of such officer,  the constituency, County or National Executive Committee, shall within one week of receipt of the notice circulate such  notice to all delegates and shall thereafter within one month summon an emergency conference to deliberate and decide the  matter. Upon receipt of the notice, the constituency, County or National Executive Committee, as the case may be, shall  suspend the officer from acting in his or her office pending the holding of the conference.

The notice summoning the conference shall specify the agenda and approve for the removal of the officer and shall be by  simple majority of the votes cast at the conference. But refusal by the conference to approve the removal of the officer  shall automatically terminate his or her suspension, if any, from office and the same method shall apply in the case for  the removal of the party Legislators,  leaders of the party’s Legislative Groups, the vice standard Bearer and Standard  Bearer.

According to documents in the possession of this paper, a written communication was addressed to Cllr.Theophilus C.Gould  on September 17, 2013 by Mr. Gus Knowlden, Chairman on Standing Committee on Press, Information and Propaganda.

The letter read thus: Mr.Chairman, herewith attached is the unanimous resolution adopted by the National Executive  Committee, NPP, as its contents thereto duly expressed for your official acknowledgement and cooperation and in the spirit  of patriotism, we remain “ABOVE ALL ELSE- THE PEOPLE.  And the resolution was adopted on September 18, 2013.

Mr.Peter said the National Patriotic Party (NPP) will not recognize Mr. John Gray as National Chairman of the party  because the resolution adopted recently was not in line with the party’s constitution but that Cllr. Theophilus C. Gould is  still the National Chairman.