PUL Gives Out Annual Awards

By Alva M. Wolokolie

During the weekend at program marking the Press Union of Liberia (PUL) annual award ceremony, several Liberian Journalists from both the print and electronic media walked away with awards proceeded by items as appreciation for their dedicated service.

The event which took place in the Ball Room of the Monrovia City Hall brought together editors, publishers, reporters, and freelance journalists from the rural and urban areas.

The PUL annual awards ceremony is designed to honor the work of journalists and media institutions over the past one year. It usually follows with the observance of World Press Freedom Day each year. The program was held under the theme: “Safe to Speak: Securing Freedom of Expression in All Media”.

Presenting the awards, the Chairman/Vetting Committee Abdullai K. Kamara said some entries were sent in without telling the committee the date or month the article was published. Mr. Kamara indicated that some journalists did not follow the procedure at all.

According to him, 21 persons applied but most of them were dropped from the competition due to their inability to follow simple instructions.

After the vetting process, Mr. Kamara announced that the Inprofile Newspaper won the newspaper of the year title while Farbrac Radio won “Radio of the Year”, followed by Power Television as “TV Station of the year 2012/2013.

Wadae Williams was named 2012/2013 Journalist of the year, Musa Kannah of Truth FM Legislative reporter of the year, Adolphus Mawolo, Health reporter of the year, and Sam Zota of the News Newspaper took the Investigative reporter of the year.

Others include; Onell Bestman of Truth FM who won the Human Rights award, Vamba Kanneh of Truth FM as Sport reporter, Moses Garsawo of ELBC knocked up with as Development reporter while Alanso Jallazuo won Photojournalist of the year.

PUL President Peter Quaqua lauded his thanks and appreciation to partners and sponsors especially its chief sponsor UNESCO for joining the union to have made the celebration of World Press Freedom Day and the annual awards day ceremony.

The Deputy Minister for Administration at the Ministry of Information Mr. Norris Tweh pledged government’s continuous support to ensure free press in the country.

Minister Tweh assured journalists that the administration of President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf will continue to respect the rights of journalists in the country. He said government will praise media institutions and individuals who will do just the right thing.