PUL Reconstitutes Membership C’ttee

The Press Union of Liberia has re-constituted its membership committee, with a mandate to launch a rigorous membership drive throughout the country and universities.

Those named to the committee are Winnie Saywah of the Inquirer Newspaper, Chairperson and Jonathan Paylaleh – BBC, Secretary. Members are: Titus Tokpah, Liberia Broadcasting System; George Kennedy, Daily Observer; Moses Togba, The Nation Times, Rose Kaiwuh, of Truth FM and Festus Poquie, African Standard.

The committee is further mandated to collect all outstanding dues owed the Union before new accreditation Cards are released. The process has been in progress and runs to the end of September 2013.

The Union meanwhile expresses thanks to old members of the committee who were not retained for their services.

In a separate development, the Union announces that it will host its overdue annual awards ceremony this Friday, June 21st at the Ball Room of the Monrovia City Hall.

The annual gala night coincides with the observance of World Press Freedom each year, but the event had been delayed because of the disruptive comments and threats from the EPS Director that culminated into protest action by the media.

Several deserving journalists and media institutions are expected to walk away with desk top and notebook computers, chiefly sponsored by UNESCO and other local partners including IREX and Lone Star Communications MTN.