Pres. Sirleaf Appoints More In Government

Continuing with the nomination of officials to positions in government, President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf named the following persons, subject to confirmation by the Honorable Liberian Senate, where applicable.

Those name include Mr. Morris Dukuly; Minister, Ministry of Internal Affairs, Cllr. Juah Lawson; Minister, Ministry of Labor, Cllr. Elizabeth B. Nelson, Supreme Court Administrator, Cllr. Jeannette Ebba-Davidson; Commissioner, National Elections Commission, Ms. Davidetta Brown Lasanah; Commissioner, National Elections Commission and Dr. Wilfred Sei Boayue; Commissioner, National Aids Control Program.

Others are Dr. Charles Collins; Commissioner, Mrs. Esther W. Paegar, Commissioner and Mr. Timothy E. Thomas, Commissioner; all reappointed at the Public Procurement and Concessions Commission.

For the National Social Security and Welfare Corporation, Ms. Miata Beysolow was name Chairman of the Board of Directors, Mr. Francis Carbah, Chairman of the of Directors at the National Housing Authority, Mr. Francis Chuchu Horton; Chairman of the Board of Directors, Liberia Telecommunications Corporation, Mr. David Fromayan Beyan; Member of the Board of Directors, Liberia Electricity Corporation, Ms. Victoria K. Sawyer; Assistant Minister, Planning, Policy and Operations, Ministry of National Defense and Col. Daniel K. Moore; Deputy Chief of Staff, Armed Forces of Liberia.

Mr. Moses Blonkanjay Jackson was appointed as Assistant Minister for Teachers’ Education, Ministry of Education, Mr. T. Wilson Gaye, Assistant Minister, Student Personnel Service, Ministry of Education, Mr. Jackson J. Paye; Assistant Minister, Feeder Roads, Ministry of Public Works and Mr. Samuel J. Summerville; Assistant Minister for Planning & Human Resource Dev., Ministry of Lands, Mines & Energy.

President Sirleaf also name Rtd. Col. Aaron T. Johnson as Deputy Director for Administration, National Bureau of Veteran Affairs, Rtd. Col. James T. Sammy as Assistant Director for Veteran Affairs, National Bureau of Veteran Affairs, Rtd. Maj. Fred I. Sumo; Assistant Director for Veteran Affairs, National Bureau of Veteran Affairs, Rtd. Maj. Ophelia Hinneh; Assistant Director for Women and Children, National Bureau of Veteran Affairs and Rtd. Maj. Brown Pajibo; County/Regional Coordinator, National Bureau of Veteran Affairs.

Meanwhile, President Sirleaf has put on hold earlier appointment of Cllr. James N. Verdier, Jr. to fill the position as INCHR Chair, pending the completion of the process required by the Act establishing the Commission on Human Rights.

However, President Sirleaf has accepted the resignation of Cllr. Leroy R. Urey as Chairman of the Independent National Human Rights Commission (INCHR).

She acknowledged with deep appreciation, the 42 years of public service in law, diplomacy and administration of Cllr. Urey, and wishes him well in his future endeavor.